this is plan be

I’m quite certain what I love most about the internet is that one can have an idea and share it, without the editing, vetting and financial investment that separates the half-baked from the commercially viable. While there is a downside, the upside is that if you can dream it, you can give it shape, without really knowing what you’re doing.

As evidence, I would love you to meet my newest idea, This is Plan Be.

IMG_8359

I was inspired by a group of guys in Texas with a company called We Keep Exploring. I bought some stickers from them, and kept wondering why all the cool stuff was being done by young people. I wanted to do something that had some LIFE to it…a spark…and I wanted stickers. I really, really wanted to make stickers.

This idea showed up over my birthday weekend in Point Reyes, fully dressed with the name, This is Plan Be.  I couldn’t believe the URL was available. It started with kindness. I wanted to create a website that presented kindness in new ways…because I think our planet can use all the kindness we can muster.

I also wanted a project I could do with Steve, that could evolve over time, that would combine his design and my writing. At first, I wanted to present four ideas that I thought were important: Be Kind. Be Curious. Be Ready. Be Here. The idea morphed, and this is my plan b to This Is Plan Be.

I found words about kindness that surprised and inspired me. I mean, who knew that Jack Kerouac and Stephen King wrote about being kind? And these words, in the poem, Kindness, by Naomi Shihab Nye, took my breath away.

Before you know kindness as the deepest thing
inside, you must know sorrow as the other deepest thing.
You must wake up with sorrow.
You must speak to it till your voice
catches the thread of all sorrows
and you see the size of the cloth.

Then it is only kindness that makes sense anymore.

I’ve been working on this website for a few months now. It’s simple and fun, and I am not sure where it’s going. But for now, we have stickers. So come on over, and say hi. Send me your address and I’ll send you some stickers. Because the world could use more of your kind. Especially your kind.

IMG_8371

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

