welcome to my (blogging) identity crisis

My Sunday morning visitor

My Sunday morning visitor

Have you noticed? I seem to be everywhere but here lately? Yeah, I kind of miss me too.

We’ve established that I am a purveyor of the next shiny thing. And that I do love a new project. And the blogging world makes it so easy for us to have new projects, if we like them in the form of simple websites with an idea that a few people might see and share. And even websites with bigger ideas, that more people might see and share, and might actually make an impact on a few new friends. I’m talking about my 1000 cups of coffee blog, Coffee Served Daily and my midlife blog, Fifty|Fifty Vision. They’re both a blast, I learn a ton, and they are sooooooo distracting.

Fifty|Fifty is my current problem child. I love that it’s given me a place to write in a different way, and it’s given me new connections. Midlife is a “thing” and the focus has helped me pay attention and learn from even the smallest moments. But sometimes it feels too focused, y’know? And sometimes I just want to write about what we had for dinner last night, and why popcorn with wine can be considered two food groups (vegetable and fruit, if you’re wondering).

I have no idea where I’m going with this. I want to write, I want to share what I write, and I’d love to be able to make a small income from writing. Sounds simple, but really, those three goals can’t get out of each other’s way. On Thursday I am going to San Jose to join 2500 other bloggers at BlogHer14, the grand dame of blogging conferences. I am going to learn so much that my head will explode. I am crossing my fingers that it will be an explosion with an aftermath of calm and clarity.

The other day I was thinking of this blog, Tour of No Regrets, as the loyal friend, who accepts and loves me as I am. The coffee blog feels like a fun friend who shows up for a good time, then moves to London, and we’re left with the memories (and probably the dishes). Fifty|Fifty feels like a new, shiny friend with expectations, and you always have to dress up just a little more to go out with them. It’s also the friend who challenges you, and your best self shows up.  But probably not the one who has popcorn and wine for dinner.

Anyway, I’m up for a little experimenting. I may try to merge these two blogs. I may stop one, I may start another one. I might begin by sharing more of the fifty|fifty stories here. Heck, I really don’t have a clue as to what I am going to do. But since you’re my loyal friend, I’ll tell you, I am going to take a morning walk first.

P.S. I did have some fun with my fancy friend, Fifty|Fifty this week. That included a little more Mary Oliver. Come see.

 

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to welcome to my (blogging) identity crisis

  1. Kim, have a blast at BlogHer. I know that you will come back with a million new ideas for writing, blogging and connecting. We will await your inevitable 62nd blog and new projects. : )

Leave a Reply

