introducing fifty|fifty vision

Hey there! So you know how I’ve been hinting about a new project for the past six months? It’s called fifty|fifty vision (midlife mojo to go) and it’s here! It’s a collaborative website about being female and fifty-something. I’m doing this with my friend Laura Jenkins, who I met last summer. Remember this?FiftyFifty_LogoBlock

This is how it happened. I’ve been thinking about my writing, and wanted to take it more seriously. I wondered what would happen if I wrote about something other than the easy stuff. The trouble is, I mostly live a life of easy stuff. Sure there are moments I don’t write about here, but in general I am an over-sharer. I even stopped blogging for a while, to see what showed up for me.

Nothing. No drama, no tragedies. No big stories of transformation. Nothing. And the truth is, I was afraid that if I kept looking for a big important subject that would make me a “real” writer, I would be tempting fate. And I didn’t think that would end well.

I happened upon the idea of fifty essays about being in our fifties, what we’re calling our “August Season.” I wanted a writing partner, someone who would challenge me, and who would bring another perspective. Though I only met Laura face-to-face once, we immediately connected. I had read and admired her writing and photography for a long time, and I called and asked if she’d be interested.

She said yes.

We brainstormed this idea, imagined names and taglines, created Google Docs spread sheets, and started writing. We did some talking, and lots of emailing, but mostly we wrote. Real life interrupted our progress, but we were patient, and when we were breathing again, the project was still waiting. Steve helped us with the design and we’re ready for liftoff. We’re still getting to know each other, but we trust that this is a good idea for both of us.

Our intent is to take turns writing once a week. We hope others will join us. We hope that eventually we’ll be part of the midlife internet ecosystem. But mostly we hope that this focus will help us learn how to use this moment in our lives to use what we have, and get us where we want to be. Wherever that is.

So please come visit us at fifty|fifty vision. This first post is Laura’s and my first post will be next week. Looking forward!

This entry was posted in fifty|fifty vision and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to introducing fifty|fifty vision

  1. Congrats! Makes me wish I were 50.

  2. Yea, I’m so excited to have a new blog to read. I’m having trouble with the link though – is it fiftyfiftyvision.com?

Leave a Reply

