the return of wordinista

The other day I heard the word “swashbuckler” on the radio and I realized that my vocabulary needed a refresher course. Because isn’t swashbuckler a great word? Though I’m not sure the Swashbuckler cocktail sounds all that delicious, the word has promise…if only I could figure out how to use it.

A few more for your consideration:

Vivify: To bring life to, to animate, to enliven. Isn’t that nice? Its exactly what it sounds like.  Let’s have some coffee to vivify our morning. In fact, let’s have three.

Callipygian: Having well-shaped buttocks. This one cracks me up, no pun intended. Well, maybe intended. Heh.

Betwixt: No mystery here, we all know what it means. But since I don’t actually live on set at Downton Abbey, I don’t get to use it. Must reconsider my century or my language.

Snollygoster: A shrewd person, not guided by principles. Yup, still watching House of Cards. Stuck on Season 2, Episode 4. I saw a small clip of something that happens in the future, and I just can’t bear to watch more. I will get over it, but for now, I have The Olympics and snowboard cross.

Wifty: Eccentic, silly, dizzy. Who are you calling wifty?

The weekend is here. May you find your inner-swashbuckler before Monday. I know I’ll be on the lookout for mine. See you on the flip side.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in wordinista. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

