the trouble with time

IMG_3513

There’s just not quite enough of it. By 11:00 a.m, I had notes that three people I knew (or knew of) had died. No one I was close to, but the stepfather of a dear friend, the daughter of a client’s office manager, and a famous actor. The daughter, Lauren, was just 21 and had cancer. You may have seen her on Facebook, or if you’re in Sacramento, heard her on the radio. She kept a blog that I’ve been following, The Not Dying Girl. She’s been ticking off her bucket list, and my friend Chris hosted her wedding last July.

I’ve always thought it was unfair that if you use time wisely, you don’t get more of it. No matter what, there’s never enough of it. And it’s equally puzzling that the only way to appreciate it, is to slow down.

Which would really annoy me, except that I am pretty good at slowing down, and that really does help me justify a quiet cup of tea. And looking out the window. And holding hands with Steve.

Time. May your week include a few moments to slow down and appreciate. And hold close what matters.

This entry was posted in Notes to Myself. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the trouble with time

  1. David says:

    This is very true. We rush around trying to create time, but it nevers seems to deliver. This was also highlighted to me this week when two old friends passed away, one at 51 from breast cancer, the other at 52 with a sudden heart attack. For sometime now, the project manager in me means I’m constantly planning what I need to do next month, later this year, next year and when I retire. This week has made me think more about what I should be doing today and tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

