advancing (still slowly) to the season

This was the weekend where the entire Christmas list would be completed. It was a well-intended and superbly organized list, in a lovely blue and white polkadot notebook, with a very cute (pink!) elastic band. But somehow the list stayed in the notebook, while we proceeded to slowly let a little seasonal spirit in. While I wasn’t checking off the list(s), this is what happened:

  • Alex flew in from Portland, just three days, one hour and twenty minutes late (not her fault, snow, rescheduled finals and a late plane from Vegas).
  • Saturday at the Farmer’s Market, where I always fall in love with my town, and on this Saturday, even fell into the Christmas spirit.
  • Two really, really great dinners with Miss Alex. Long conversations, trying to remember what it’s like to be 19 going on 20 and having your head explode with ideas, opinions and a sense of what you believe and stand for. Also, having your child say, “Oh my gosh, I can’t believe how many vegetables I get to eat here!”
  • A long, productive and to-be-continued phone call with a new friend on a new and very exciting project. Progress being made, and project launching in January. Seriously, I love new projects. And new friends. It’s like the two-fer of creativity.
  • The three of us, somehow, someway, managed to NOT finish an entire box of Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Joe Joe’s. That in itself is a Christmas miracle. However, there may only be four left.
  • A visit to Oakland to visit our favorite other family, Chris, Christine, Avery and baby Zeal. I met Chris when he was 2, and now my baby girl is loving on his babies. How did that happen?

Tree up, and despite my earlier ponderings, we bought the 9-foot tree. And it looks pretty wonderful and smells great. The living room is still full of boxes, but stockings are hung, and we’re probably ready. Or ready-ish. The notebook would tell me, but I think I might live on the wild side and ignore it.

IMG_2629IMG_2641IMG_2645IMG_2653IMG_2656IMG_2665IMG_2673IMG_2687IMG_2696

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to advancing (still slowly) to the season

  1. Oh, you’re like the big sister I never had! Not because you’re older than me (because I don’t think you are) but you’re a bit ahead of me in parenting. My college girl comes home on Wednesday and I can hardly wait another minute. But when she came home at Thanksgiving all she wanted was fresh vegetables. I took her and the friend she brought home grocery shopping with me – they said they just go into the grocery store and stare at the produce. Ah, dorm life. Also, we are Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s fanatics around here. One year I think we went through 6 boxes. We’re still on our first box this year, although I’ve snuck, er, eaten most of them. (see http://instagram.com/p/h2RMXkLb5i/) Merry Christmas to you!

Leave a Reply

