a sunday afternoon in fall

We missed most of October, what we’re now calling The Dark Days. Not that it was so dark, but Steve was working on the show, and I was left to make my own mischief. Today was our last chance to get outside and enjoy the fall, so we drove out to Capay Valley, and climbed up into the Cache Creek Canyon. Of course, I made several choices about where we would hike, and even the trail, thinking it was the flatter route, because one can just as easily enjoy fall color if one isn’t huffing and puffing. Except that I was wrong…even though we did this same hike last year, somehow I forgot that it was uphill. I don’t know how I forgot that, but clearly I was being punished for attempting to take the easy way out. If I had known what I was choosing, I would have packed a (small) bottle of wine in Steve’s backpack.But even with the huffing and puffing (and there was some), and even though we were a few weeks past the prime of the season, it was pretty wonderful.

IMG_2250IMG_2260IMG_2297IMG_2306IMG_2310 IMG_2316 IMG_2322IMG_2337 IMG_2346 IMG_2360IMG_2362IMG_2364IMG_2307

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

