another weekend, another flea market

I thought I’d give the Sacramento Flea Market a try this weekend. It’s close to town, only happens once a month, and came recommended by my studio mate, Dane (if you’ve been to the studio, you’ve seen Dane’s talent for curating all things interesting and vintage). I still don’t quite have the knack for balancing my daypack, coffee, camera and purchases…and I still don’t like the idea of bargaining..and I am not all that great at spying the treasures through the crap. But I did buy some lovely (new) French dishtowels, and a fantastic 1960’s children’s printing set. I had a charming conversation with a retired letterpress printer who let me look through some of his not-for-sale books while we both mourned the lost art and industry of printing. Do I get applause for skipping the velvet Elvis? (Believe it or not, Steve has a book of famous velvet Elvis paintings.)

IMG_1660IMG_1664IMG_1666IMG_1668 IMG_1670 IMG_1671IMG_1674IMG_1675

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to another weekend, another flea market

  1. anniespickns says:

    I knew you wouldn’t be able to pass up the printing set. Perhaps a new line of greeting cards will be coming soon?

Leave a Reply

