a sunday flea-ing (you have to say it fast to get the joke)

Lovely, quiet weekend. Steve is working like crazy, so we’re rationing our time for chores and play. He reseeded the lawn and we went out for Thai bar food (as in sitting at the bar, noshing on lettuce cups and drinking martinis). On Sunday I decided to make a trek to the Alameda Flea Market. Alameda is known as an old Navy yard, next to Oakland, across the bay from San Francisco. I’ve never actually been there, an hour and a half away, and hidden amongst some of the most confusing Google map directions I’ve encountered. This flea market only happens once a month, and has about 800 vendors, so visitors are encouraged to arrive early, bring their own rolling carts, dress in layers, and to hydrate regularly. I was a little intimidated, but the possibility of scoring a black globe (since I already have…ahem…six blue ones…please don’t judge me) and some found type was pretty motivating.

This morning I set the alarm for 6:00, gulped my coffee, strapped on my pedometer, grabbed my layers, camera, water bottle, protein bars, comfy shoes, backpack, giant Ikea bag and aforementioned confusing directions and set out. I didn’t really need the directions, because the only people out at 7:30 am on a Sunday were headed to the same place I was.

I did find my black globe (for a great price), and accidentally bought another blue one (I know!), and a few small things. I only regret passing up two things, which I think is a win. The weather was perfect, the views amazing and the merchandise interesting, if a bit high priced, and everyone was happy and friendly. I logged 6+ miles on the pedometer (which is actually a trick when carrying two globes and a camera), and decided when I return I may have to bring a rolling cart. And Steve.  IMG_1527IMG_1533 IMG_1534IMG_1520 IMG_1519IMG_1517 IMG_1516 IMG_1515 IMG_1513 IMG_1512 IMG_1511 IMG_1510IMG_1535IMG_1536

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

