oh look, it’s a pause button

One of our family jokes is that I can never find the pause button on the TV remote control. That would require finding my glasses, and that’s another story. So I rely on sound effects. First the sigh, then the heavy sigh, then the moan…and if that doesn’t work, a curse. If I am desperate, I bring out the big curse (you know the one I mean, don’t make me say it, it’s not pretty). If that doesn’t work, I add some movement and flail about until someone comes to my rescue. Mocking ensues, but the much needed pause is made.

Kind of like my life. I am in pre-flail. Which is not the same as F.A.I.L. But it’s not so far away that I shouldn’t pay attention.

I’m taking a pause…not a break…or a full stop, but a pause, from blogging. Nothing’s wrong, but something’s not right either. I am crazy busy at work, and most of my work includes writing. So while I am pushing ideas and words (and some pretty snappy ones too, if I might add), my brain is done at the end of the day, and so is my right hand. I have a few twinges and I am nervous about carpal tunnel, because that would really screw me up.

Of course, my go-to response for overload is to do more. More writing, photos, planning, commitments. If I think I am faltering, I always add a few more pieces, just to prove that I won’t fall. Like a human Jenga game…add pieces, remove support. Hold my breath, be grateful, plan another move, and do it again. Do you do that? It’s stupid, I know. But stupid doesn’t always stop me. I’m kind of a pro at misguided time management.

I love blogging and it helps orient my day. I am not exactly sure how to start without it. But I suspect that if I stop worrying about what more I can produce this week, it might refresh me for a change. And change is what’s needed, for sure.

I will be back in a few weeks, maybe the same, maybe different. I hope you’ll come back around to visit then. I’ll miss you…but you know, once I master the pause button, I can hit the refresh button. See you on the flip side.

4a68943831e24ff1e395004c8c33a8a7

Art by Katie Daisy.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to oh look, it’s a pause button

  1. Love your writing and your musings. Lots of resonance. Enjoy the break, and we’ll all be here when you get back.

  2. happytheman says:

    love the artwork been reading Thich Nhat Hahn no death, no fear over the last few weeks. thanks for this.

  3. anniespickns says:

    Time off is a good thing. Sometimes it’s the best thing that can happen. Although I’ll miss you here I know you’re there doing what you love and that you’ll be back when the time is right. Until then . . . . . just breathe.

  4. njweseman says:

    Will miss you but I often think of taking a break too. I need to be as disciplined as you are, and actually follow through. xo

Leave a Reply

