making change

Alex returned home from her European adventure this weekend. She flew into LAX Saturday night, so Steve and I drove to my folks’ house, picked her up, and decompressed there for the weekend. I knew she’d change some on the trip, but I didn’t know how.

This is what happened. She became a fully formed conversation. She came home with articulate opinions about culture and diversity and commonality.  Independence, and pride, and listening and serving. Flexibility, adapting, and making choices (for example, bologna sandwiches are acceptable if it affords you more time on a beach in Greece). What it means to be an ambassador for America, and what it means to be a global citizen. Last year she changed her major from Athletic Training to Anthropology, and I am pretty sure she got it right.

It’s a treat to have her home, even if it’s only for a few more weeks. I pulled a few pictures from her Facebook…and I took one of her with my dad. The truth is I take this same picture every single time they are together… but this one I particularly love.

Sigh. This is the reward, you know.

998219_273881109421556_2064901972_n 73448_274787299330937_932278098_n 998199_274787175997616_206045340_n

and with Grandpa Bill…

Bill and Alex

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to making change

  1. andrea says:

    Aw, great photos! So glad she had fun!

  2. anniespickns says:

    I can see why you especially like that one.

Leave a Reply

