souvenirs

We’re almost to the end of the Chicago posts…but I thought you’d want to know what I bought, since I was in one of the shopping capitals of the country, even the world. Magnificent Mile and all that…because we all know what a fancy shmancy shopper I am (NOT). When we were in Italy, my brother-in-law told me he didn’t believe I actually liked shopping, but I just wanted to have little experiences with shopkeepers. He was exactly right back then, and it’s still true today.

IMG_5024

From the Spice House, which was down the street from our loft in Old Town. Kate and I even did cinnamon tasting. I bought lots, and shoulda/coulda bought more. You could smell the place from a block away.

IMG_5043

Fresh beans and a mug from Kate’s favorite spot, Metropolis.

IMG_5056IMG_5032

From Frank Lloyd Wright’s home and studio, a table runner (it’s really a placemat, but I can’t be trusted with nice things, so we bought one and call it a runner) and a FLW action pen…I know you are jealous of this one!

IMG_5046

Bought a few of these at the Cubs game. We also received not one, but two Darwin Barney Golden Glove replicas, just for being one of the first 10,000 people at the game. I had no idea who he was, but now I do.

IMG_5049

$1.00 from the Maxwell Street Market. I do not need another bag, but it was $1.00, and look at those colors.

IMG_5063

Also from the Maxwell Street Market…our initials in old printer blocks. We have quite a few of these at the studio, and I can’t resist.

Steve did buy a very cool pair of shoes in Wicker Park. Unfortunately, they stayed in the cab after we left it. But fortunately, the lost and found says they have them and they are on their way to California. And, Brendan gave me an awesome felt bag for my laptop, designed by one of the professors at SAIC. I also have a few postcard from Dave Eggers shop and Steve picked up a cool bicycling beer glass for 40 cents at a thrift store. And, I have about 1,000 pictures…not kidding…I took about 300 a day, and am working on editing them down. Because we’re going back next year, for sure.

So, just out of curiosity, what kind of stuff do you buy on trips? One big thing, lots of little things, a special treasure, tchotchkees? Or some of each?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to souvenirs

  1. njweseman says:

    Hi Kim! I love the bag that the coffee is in. I have a few of those $1 mesh shopping bags from trips to Mexico, and I love them. My trip treasures are the photos that I take, and then I try to pick up a magnet or two.
    xo

  2. Nicole says:

    I’ve decided I just have too many t shirts so I generally try to get a refrig magnet, a christmas ornament, and if I am someplace where the grocery stores are different, a re-usable grocery bag . That way at least once a week I am reminded of Paris, London, Hawaii, etc. 🙂
    P.S.- The American River Pkwy half marathon is in ten days……..yep. I’m doing it.#7!

Leave a Reply

