sunday in the city

Today was the last day of a long, lazy, meandering winter vacation. We went a few places, and did a few things. But I didn’t get one nap, and barely finished one book. I didn’t go snowshoeing, or clean out the top shelf of the closet. I did see lots of movies, ate far more than I should, and exercised moderately. It was fun to have the girls home, but this morning we dropped Alex at the airport at 8:00 am and by 9:30 we were in the car for a day trip to San Francisco (she went on Thursday, so it’s not like we were holding out on her or anything). Siri, the GPS goddess and the parking space lords were with us, and we managed six, count ’em six, activities. I’ll start you out with the monochromatic ones first. Come back tomorrow and you’ll see what I mean.

First stop was Muji, a new store that is kind of like a Japanese Ikea, but for personal stuff. Like notebooks. It was notebook heaven, and yes, I bought a few. And three calendars. Oh, and a pencil case. I considered the soap dishes, pajamas and a smart little bag within a bag. It was a very well-behaved store, quiet and lovely and very beige, in a good way.

Stop two was Heath Ceramics, adjoining Blue Bottle Cafe. We still have our wedding dishes, dating back to 1979, and many other mismatched sets. I used to think they were whimsical. Now I just think they are messy. I have been dreaming of a full set of Heath dishes for many years. I didn’t tell Steve until today. He’s on board, especially when we win the lottery. The colors were still muted and calm, and the coffee was fabulous. I bought one small vase, just to see how it looks in our home. It looks perfect. Sigh.

DSC00043DSC00028DSC00033DSC00056

Next stop, bold and bright. See you tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

