snowflakes three ways

DSC09832

While we were at the beach house, my sister-in-law, Sue, my mother-in-law, Adeline, and I made 26 snowflakes for Sandy Hook. Sue has mad snowflake making skills, the by product of being a teacher for 30 years. After several sad attempts, I finally started to get the hang of it, though my scissors may never be the same. Of course, as soon as we finished we had to make it snow. Sue told Bariza to stand on the kitchen counter with her and throw them down on me (who was laying on the floor, wondering if I would be able to get up). Good times.

DSC09867

The next morning the blue sky was begging for another peek at our handiwork.

DSC09936

At home I ironed the snowflakes and sent them off with a note, “Love to everyone in Sandy Hook from the Barbaria family.” I’ve read that they are overwhelmed by the paper snowflakes in Connecticut, and I suspect they didn’t need any more. But it was more about the love than the snowflakes, and I am certain they can use as much as we can send, for a long, long time.

By the way, I am still working on my 26 acts of kindness. I thought I could blast through them in 4 days, but I think it will take 4 months!

This entry was posted in Making Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

