happy pajama day

DSC09961Or New Year’s Day, as the rest of the world refers to it. But in our house, with the exception of a certain someone who thinks a holiday is an excuse to exercise, we’re staying on the couch. I have changed my clothes three times, but it’s just a transition from nightgown to pjs to sweats (at noon, because I do have some standards).

Last night we skipped our potentially raucous game of Scrabble for a Indiana Jones movie marathon, which was more enjoyable than I would have expected, considering I can’t do movies with any kind of scary, dramatic arc (and yes, Indiana Jones qualifies). Today Alex and I watched the Rose Parade, did some Peace Corps research (for her, not me), then Steve and I made a seafood strata, and roasted peppers from the garden. I made snowflakes out of magazine pages and tried to care about Stanford in the Rose Bowl. I started a new Project 365, but I am not fully committed to it…we’ll see. So far, my commitment for today is to simply celebrate a day of doing nothing that isn’t absolutely necessary.

For the rest of the week I will get dressed by noon, and not a minute before. But today, I will party on with my pajamas and slippers and tea. It’s gonna be a wild new year!

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to happy pajama day

  1. njweseman says:

    Sounds like a perfect day to me. Happy New Year. Thank you for always inspiring me with your pictures and your words!
    xo

Leave a Reply

