2013, I am paying attention to you

DSC08116

Last year there was a blog movement called One Word 365, encouraging folks to choose one word to define their intentions for 2012. Everywhere I looked, blogmates were declaring wonderful words like listen, explore, nurture, breathe, open, cultivate, trust, endurance, thrive, bloom. While it seemed like the perfect exercise for me, I just couldn’t come up with one word. It niggled at me all year long, because I should be able to participate…it would certainly be easier than taking a photo every day for a year, or collecting 1000 cups of coffee. I pondered until I was pondered out, and I finally gave it up.

But over the past few weeks, the phrase “pay attention”  keeps coming to me. As a set of words, I don’t love it. It doesn’t sound efficient, awe-inspiring or crisp. Typographically it isn’t even pretty (all those Ts get messy, don’t you think?). It’s a little too commanding, rather than gently suggestive. But I think that this is my lesson for the year. To pay attention to the moments, to the beauty, to the opportunities, to my relationships, to my body, to my heart, to my home, to the light. I think that’s what my other projects were about as well, a framework to help me pay attention. I don’t know if I need a framework or a project to notice the joy and light in my life…maybe I do. Or maybe the words will help me do it. Last year was a year of transition, I just didn’t know it until I was in the midst of it. This year I will pay attention, so I can live within the transition, rather than watch it from the sidelines (usually with my annoyed face).

So I declare 2013 the year of paying attention. I am sticking with a few of my resolutions from 2012, because I didn’t master texting with two hands. I will read more, exercise more, and write more. I am going back to church (don’t know how, when or where, but I think something is calling me). I am going to learn how to knit more than a scarf (and I will learn to cast off). I am going to try to not be afraid of myself. I am going to pay attention. See you there. Happy New Year, my friends.

This entry was posted in Inspired by Others and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013, I am paying attention to you

  1. Sal says:

    maybe Mindfulness is a good word for you too? Have a wonderful New Year Kim, look forward to having a virtual coffee with you soon! : )

  2. pam says:

    I think pay attention are perfectly fine words!! I like what you can do with them! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

