first steps

I can’t watch the news. I can’t not watch the news. I want to move on, but I also want to hold those children and their teachers, and their families, in my heart. I don’t want to talk about it, but I can’t seem to stop thinking about it. I’ve been looking for inspiration, seeking a quote, a photo, a song…something that would help me start my day and kickstart my spirit. Finally, I went back to my own photos for a few small moments when I paid attention and was grateful for my life and my earth and my loves. And that is where I will start.

DSC04367DSC06067DSC04568DSC06420DSC07461 DSC07430 DSC07428DSC07990DSC08136 DSC08171DSC08441DSC08695DSC08723DSC09130

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to first steps

  1. I too have been feeling an ache deep down since Friday. I’ve made every effort to avoid the news, in part because I don’t want my 9 year olds to hear or see it. On Friday, the youth minister at our church sent her weekly advent letter to us Sunday school teachers, and it included this quote that, for me, was so perfect I posted it immediately on my Facebook. It must have resonated with others too as I got several Likes.

    “The only way to truly overcome our fear of death is to live life in such a way that its meaning cannot be taken away by death. This sounds grandiose, but it is really very simple. It means fighting the impulse to live for ourselves, instead of for others. It means choosing generosity over greed. It also means living humbly, rather than seeking influence and power.”

    ~Johann Christoph Arnold “Be Not Afraid” from the book Watch for the Light: Readings for Advent and Christmas

Leave a Reply

