we are better than this

I have been paralyzed all day today. I can’t stop reading the news and thinking of the children and the families in Connecticut. One of Alex’s good friends was at the mall in Portland when the shooting happened earlier in the week (he wasn’t near the shooting, thank goodness). We’ve been discussing gun control at the dinner table all week. I’ve never liked guns, I don’t know that I have ever held one (I think I touched one once, but I’ve blocked it out of my mind). But people I love have guns, for protection and for sport. They can keep them (doesn’t mean I understand it, but there are lots of things I don’t understand, like decaffeinated coffee and pajama jeans). But an automatic weapon? There is just no reason.

We are a better country than this. We are a compassionate, civilized country who can care for our children. Aren’t we? We can hold the families in our prayers, but we have not served our children until we take action. And by action, I mean paying attention to gun regulation AND mental health services.

By the way (and I know this could be TMI), when Steve went to have his vasectomy, he had a two-week waiting period. At the time we joked it was easier to get a gun than to get birth control. No more jokes.

DSC09225

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to we are better than this

  1. njweseman says:

    Same here, paralyzed and sick. So sick I can’t eat or think or move. I grew up around guns, and have a huge respect for them, and unfortunately in this world we live in, I’m glad that I can protect myself with one. That being said, I agree, no to automatic weapons. I realize there are other things that these individuals could use if we took these weapons away, but it sure would be a start. A huge start. I always love how you state your opinion in a very loving and respectful way.

    And yeah, decaf coffee makes no sense to me. 🙂

    hugs!

Leave a comment