salty the snowman (or something like that)

Ah, welcome to my workshop, where I have Pinterest dreams and not quite Pinterest-ready products. But it was fun and 24 jars of flavored sea salt are packed and ready to be delivered to our friends and family. And yes, all salt is from the sea. And no, I have no idea what makes Maldon salt so fancy and expensive, and how the 99-cent salt differs from the $2.99 salt and the $6.99 salt. Such are the mysteries of Christmas (or as I’ve taken to calling it, Conflictmas, but that’s another post, isn’t it?).

DSC09328So here’s how it works. 1 cup of salt (I went for the $2.99 stuff, with one batch of the fancy stuff) to about 3T of zest. I used orange, a combination of lemon and lime, a combination of lime and red chilies, and a combination of rosemary and lime. The chilies and the rosemary were both from our garden. According to the recipe from Sunset magazine, combine the zest with the salt in a bowl, mix it with your fingers to release the oils, and then let it sit and dry. I had an alternative recipe for the rosemary that included cooking it over a medium heat for about 10 minutes, constantly stirring (I used my dutch oven, which was perfect). The smell was so incredible that I did this for all of them (and that was when I added the lemon to the rosemary salt, couldn’t resist). I didn’t measure out the rosemary or the chili peppers (I also dried the chilies first, also in the oven). There are recipes that call for baking the salt in a very low oven, but that just gave me brown salt. I think I also used more than 3T of zest per cup, because, well, I am a zesty kind of gal. Packaged in containers from World Market (on second thought, I would have gone Ikea, but these are good) with popcorn. And trying not to imagine the morning-after conversations of “now what do we do with all this salt, because it really tastes salty.”

Three projects down, two to go (two and a half if you count the cards), and we’ve barely researched our graham cracker-icing-glue gun-candy Notre Dame Cathedral. Is it Christmas yet?

DSC09295DSC09302DSC09324DSC09353

This entry was posted in Making Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

