staying in the picture

A few months ago there was a blog post floating around the internet about the importance of moms stepping into, rather than out of, the family photos. You can read it here. My family will tell you that not many things make me as uncomfortable as a camera pointed in my direction. But I love photos of my mom, and my grandmothers, and the truth is, I want to stay present in my family memories. While I am comfortable with my gray hair and wrinkles, I have been in denial about my weight for years (like if I don’t have to see a picture of myself, then I don’t weigh that much…I know, I know). But I have lost a significant amount of weight, so while I am not runway ready, I am now more willing to stand in and not step away. Exhibit A:

DSC08040

Steve took this last summer at the beach in Aptos. It was my attempt for a family photo (which never really materialized). But it’s the first time I let myself be photographed with Kate and Alex in years. I don’t love, love, love it…but it’s a good start.

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to staying in the picture

  1. anniespickns says:

    I do love it. You look happy and you look great.

  2. I can so relate to what you wrote. I always joke that if something were to happen to me my children would forget what I looked like because there are no photos of me. Even on my honeymoon I had to remember on the last day to do a timed photo. This photo of you and your girls is so gorgeous! You will always be glad you did it.

Leave a Reply

