things I sometimes forget

Last week I forgot how old I was. This happens periodically, but I really, really forgot. I had to pull out my driver’s license, turn on the light, and put on my glasses. I think I am 55. Maybe 56. See, I already forgot again.

This morning Steve asked me for Kate’s email. I was reminded that her name is actually Katelyn. I almost forgot that.

I forget that I actually love having parties, and I am actually pretty good at them.

I forget wine. I mean I don’t forget that I like wine. But I can’t remember what I drank, so I can drink it again. That might be a good thing.

I also forget that having a cup of coffee (and being all cavalier and ordering the real stuff, rather than decaf, like I am Superwoman or something) when we’re out means that Superwoman will be awake at 2:00 am.

And, every year I forget how much I love autumn. Just this morning I saw a leaf that was just starting to turn…a lovely outline of red framing the green center. It stopped me in my tracks, that one leaf.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to things I sometimes forget

  1. leslyejoy says:

    Oh what a good writer you are, my friend. Love this post.

Leave a Reply

