of birthdays and battleships

We’ve been celebrating my dad’s 80th birthday since August, interrupted by a few hospital visits and such. It’s been an exciting few months. This weekend was the real birthday, and my two brothers and I were determined to celebrate dad with a non-medical themed weekend. It was the first time we’ve been just the five of us, without spouses or grandkids, in forever (I’m talking 30 years forever). It was quiet and lovely and timely. That would be our family joke, because as different as we all are from each other, the one trait we share is that we are all, always, absolutely on time. It’s wired into our DNA, I am sure of it. We’re actually a little obsessed with time and lists (though Doug keeps his lists in his head, it’s clear he’s keeping them), to the point where it kind of defines us as a family. Yes, I know that’s weird. The other thing that defines us (in fact, it’s called Tackett Talent) is that we’re all a little klutzy. So I am going to run with the time thing for now, because it causes fewer injuries, and like I said before, we’re staying away from hospitals on this trip. But I digress…

The birthday weekend started with a trip to the beach, a special dinner out, and then visit to the USS Iowa. Dad was in the Navy, and a guy, and from the excitement I saw from my brothers, this is a guy kind of thing. I was mostly excited to see where President Roosevelt stayed, plus I loved the giant rope. They were excited about the guns and missiles and rocket thingies. Go figure. We had a few more patio BBQs, and a reprise of the family slide show (now up to 800+ slides). The boys (I know, technically they’re men, and Neal is even a grandfather, but to me they are my little brothers) and I mustered up a few chores to do, but mostly we just hung out together and enjoyed this moment. Because we were all there, in time and on time. Which is the Tackett way. Happy Birthday Dad!

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to of birthdays and battleships

  1. anniespickns says:

    Super nice Kim. So great that you all took the time to be together.

Leave a Reply

