we went for the harvest and picked up a few…cousins

I love cousin-ships. I adore my cousins, and Steve’s were a bonus gift when we married. But I have a few I don’t really know. To be fair, they are the (grown) children of my mom’s cousin, David, and they were born when I was having babies of my own. Kim and I share a name, but probably wouldn’t know each other on the street. Stephanie was gracious enough to invite us to her wedding two years ago (where we introduced ourselves to her at the reception line). Much of our family history happened before they were born, and before I moved 500 miles away. But through Facebook we’ve stayed somewhat connected, as Facebook does so well. It isn’t the same as spending a day, or a beer with someone, but it’s a start.

Stephanie reached out and invited us to spend the day with their family at Apple Hill (think wine tasting, but with apples instead…though there is some wine to be had). We actually live the closest, they all had to travel much further. It was a blast…easy, comfortable, and weirdly enough, like we had known each other for our entire lives. Which we have, kind of.

Love the pumpkins, the pears, the apples, the apple beer….but really love family. Harvest score! (And shout out to Glenda, Gil, Brandon and Mallory…oh, and Steve!)

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

