so long to a season

I may be writing this prematurely. Afterall, the San Francisco Giants still have one more game to play in Cincinnati before they’re out of it. But I suspect this will be it.

Oh, it was a fun one, this second season of my fandom (second and a half, if I am stretching it). I immersed myself in all things Giants, and pretty much all things baseball. I watched games, listened when I couldn’t watch. I switched from NPR to sports radio in the morning. I read the blogs, the books, and the sports section. I went to games, wore the orange and black, and yelled and clapped and sang. I ate garlic fries and drank Blue Moon, all in the name of baseball. I was thrilled, mortified, delighted, disappointed, and surprised. I spent way more time than I should have caring about this team, but gosh darn it, they are so cool. There were moments/games when I didn’t think they could make it to the end. I mean, I never really thought they could make it to the end-end, but I didn’t think they’d beat the Dodgers to make it into the post season.

And then they did. And then they kind of blew up. If you’re in the Bay Area, you know what I mean. If you don’t follow the Giants, just know it wasn’t pretty. People today are in mourning, at least that’s what they say. I don’t think I am mourning…honestly, I am a little happy to get my life back. And I can still channel Alex and follow the St. Louis Cardinals.

Plus, there’s always next year.

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

