tuesday morning musings

Feeling a tad overwhelmed this morning. I am pondering the name of an alter ego who could help me through these moments by taking on a few pieces of my personal puzzle. There is no tie in to the tomatoes and lemon cucumbers photo above, but they are nice, aren’t they? Anyway, back to my alter ego. Last week I had a conversation with a studio mate and he was telling me about a photographer he knew in the 70’s. He said her name and without skipping a beat, he said, “and her alter ego was _______.” He might have said something besides alter ego, since she was all artsy, and I can’t even remember what her other name was, but all I could think about was how cool it would be to have an extra persona on hand.

Then last night, driving home from work, I was rambling to Steve about everything that was bumping up against each other in my brain. I ended my rant with “and now I think I may need an alter ego name because today I tracked my calories in My Fitness Pal and everyone will see that I am 40 calories over, and that’s embarrassing, and I want to track truthfully, but I don’t want to be embarrassed (mind you we’re talking 1240 calories).”  He told me all of my other concerns were valid, but the alter ego thing was kind of stupid.

I told him that was the one I was the most serious about.

I know her characteristics, but I can’t think of a name. She’s somewhere between 54 and 64. She’s athletic and exotic and relaxed and energetic and creative and intellectual and can remember the names of fine wines and can quote poetry and baseball statistics. She can wear hats and scarves. She probably doesn’t watch TV, but she knows how to work her iPod (in fact, she probably knows where her iPod is). She’s been to Indonesia and Antarctica. In fact, she can spell Antarctica with the extra c, without resorting to spellcheck.  She’s tall, and perhaps might be rich (but she doesn’t act snobby rich, she just doesn’t worry about money). She can ride a motorcycle and play a mean blues guitar. Did I mention that she can do yoga without farting? I am imagining a cross of Jamie Lee Curtis, Bonnie Raitt, Meryl Streep, with just a smidgen of Julia Roberts, and maybe a little vintage Ali McGraw. Sassy, smart, strong, with a sense of humor. You get the picture, right?

I spent a little too much time pondering this last night, but I didn’t resort to pulling out a piece of paper to write down name ideas. However, if today gets out of hand, it may be tonight’s activity. Unless you can think of one for me.

I know this seems silly, but tell the truth…haven’t you ever wanted an alter ego name?

Signed, Xenia Blue (the placeholder)

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to tuesday morning musings

  1. leslie says:

    mine in college was Shasta DiMarco

Leave a Reply

