weight, weight don’t tell me

I have been keeping a secret from you and I am ready to go public. Yes, this is another “I am losing weight again” post.

In April I joined Kaiser’s Weight Management Program. I am living on protein shakes. It isn’t pretty. But it’s working.

There, that’s my secret.

Here’s the story. I haven’t always been heavy, but in the last 20 years or so, it’s been a big challenge for me. In 2007 I lost 35 pounds on Weight Watchers, and slowly gained it back, plus a bonus 20. I had been feeling pretty shitty about it…not to mention scared and embarrassed. My body creaked and I sensed that I was actually putting myself in danger. I tried WW several more times, and then tried that vegan thing. I’ve explored programs like this before, but I came away thinking “oh my gosh, these people are pathetic, I will eat salads every day for the rest of my life to not do this.” I had two friends who did the Kaiser program, and when they shared it with me, I didn’t think they were pathetic, but I didn’t think it was for me. I watched Kate lose 35 pounds over the past year (I hope it’s ok with her that I share this) through really hard work and vigilance. My mom lost weight and continued to share with me that it would be the answer to a productive, happy life as an older person (and that I was perhaps not so far away from senior status).

One morning I woke up and decided this was my answer. I signed up, and I have been drinking protein shakes ever since. And I am down 23 pounds. Many, many more to go, but it’s a really great start.

It’s an 82-week program. It’s expensive. It requires driving to Vacaville for weekly meetings to meet with my 21-person group and a facilitator. For 15 weeks we are “on product” meaning we drink 6-7 protein products (shakes, up to two bars and a dehydrated soup) a day. That’s 900 calories. We do blood tests and meet with a doctor every three weeks. I drink at least 100 ounces of water every day and try to exercise for an hour a day, five days a week. I don’t eat real food or drink alcohol. I do drink some coffee, but have cut down tremendously.

It has been really, really hard. There have been ugly moments when I have felt like a victim of the program, a victim of my body and a victim of my own lack of self-discipline. And while I have empathy for the real victims of the world, I really don’t have any tolerance for people who perceive themselves as victims. Pathetic, I tell you. I miss socializing with people, I miss eating with my family, cooking for my family, I miss having a glass of wine with Steve on the weekends. I miss restaurants. I miss food, especially the food that smells really good. I am one of the slow losers in my group, and that’s been frustrating for me. I have cheated some…a few garlic fries at the ball game, a few glasses of wine at Alex’s party (note to self, when one has not eaten in six weeks, drinking isn’t a smart idea, at all), and vegies in my soup. I have paid for it, and am working on staying on the program 100%, without the add ons (after all, spinach in soup is the gateway drug to croutons…I know, I’ve been there).

The good news is, not dealing with food leaves a tremendous amount of time in the day. Eating only when I am hungry? What a concept. Several in our group have connected daily on myfitnesspal.com, and that’s been helpful. My family has been super supportive. I am ten weeks in, and only have five weeks more on product, then food is slowly introduced back into our meal plan, one meal a week. And the biggest good news is that I look and feel different. I feel like my old, real self is finally being revealed again. Today I believe I can do it.

There is a reason the program is 82 weeks. It’s a long journey and this is just the start of it. This morning I believe I will be successful. I do know I will need to be vigilant for the rest of my life. And I think it’s worth it. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, a 33 oz. bottle of delicious water and my running shoes are calling my name.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to weight, weight don’t tell me

  1. anniespickns says:

    Good job Kim. You’re doing great.

  2. Penny Hill says:

    I was just thinking about you this week, wondering if you were still on the shakes, and thinking about what we could do as a get-together. Water bottles and a stroll? Something visually interesting at a gallery?

  3. Nicole says:

    Wow Impressive! I know you are tackling this with your usual gusto. Not sure it’s for me but I think I may just be able to talk you into the Parkway Half next April, right???? RIGHT????? ;P You go girl.

  4. njweseman says:

    You are awesome. I’m proud of you! You are doing so well. It’s SO damn hard. I spent the first 20 years of my life being so skinny, at one point my mom thought I had an eating disorder. I didn’t. Then I moved out on my own and gained so much weight. I’ve lost it a few times, but now it’s back on. I’m creaking too, and my body is telling me to stop the nonsense. I’ve had a bad knee for a while now, and I know it’s the weight. I need to make some changes, and I’m so proud of you for doing this! It sounds like it’s been extremely hard, but you have such a great attitude about it, and about life in general! You continue to inspire me! Thanks for sharing this.
    xo

  5. Pingback: Hela, heba, helloa « tour of no regrets

Leave a Reply

