a year ago

A year ago I wrote this.

It’s been a year without a dog. I was ok, until I saw a dog that looked just like him at the beach on Sunday. I noticed the eyebrows first. Steve mentioned the tail.

I don’t want another dog, at least not yet. And I know my life is easier. But it’s just not the same.

We’ve been spending every weekend in the yard, and every once in a while we come across one of his toys, buried in the dirt. Neither of us wants to be the first to pull them up and throw them. So they just stay buried.

Sigh. Oh Toby, you were a butt-head, but we did love you so.

 

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a year ago

  1. Kareen says:

    Your post last year meant so much to me, as I had lost my dear dog only 6 weeks prior to your loss. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. All the best.

Leave a Reply

