what the #*!% is happening to me?

Oh. I fear it is maturity, or something of the sort.

I am a Potty Mouth. I take great joy in swearing. My daughters cuss (my husband, not so much). I have even taught my mother to do it, though she’s not casual with her cussing, she generally reserves her swear words for spilled wine and stupid politicians.  We are free with our language, and I don’t mean once in a while. All the time. But you know, sometimes it’s inappropriate.

Like around children. I hate it when I hear rascally teenagers cursing around kids. I imagine telling them to just stop it and get a life, but I haven’t actually done that yet. But in my head I do it every time.

And this weekend Steve and I saw the movie, Friends with Children. It was cute. Funny. I related to it and enjoyed it. But something bothered me. There was entirely too much swearing. Now it didn’t bother me in Bridesmaids, but this did. It especially bugged me (and I am still thinking about it, three days later) when one of the characters used the big word (you know what word I mean) to describe what he was going to do to another character, as a way to show how much he loved her. Ick. I mean, really, ick.

And just now, I was looking at a board on Pinterest,curated by a design site I enjoy, titled Inspirational Posters. And half of them had the f-bomb in it (I can say it, but I can’t write it…I don’t know why, I just can’t). And that bothered me. It kind of sullied a good thought. I can’t believe I am using that kind of language. Sullied? Now I sound like my grandma (who would have hated my language…I still remember when she asked me not to refer to my daughter as my kid, because it was so crass). I did get a laugh out of this one though:

I am ok with most of the other parts of getting older (mushier body, gray hair, texture on my face, falling asleep by 10). But I hate to lose the ability to enjoy a good cursing out. #*!&.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to what the #*!% is happening to me?

  1. anniespickns says:

    I’m definitely with you on this one, Kim. Love the poster!

  2. Texture on your face!

Leave a Reply

