the one where she wonders where the years went

This weekend I took Alex’s hand and foot prints off the mantle. I put them up for her birthday, along with the cards for a week or so. Every January, for 18 years. I did it for Kate too, though she’s been away for 6 years. Alex will be gone next year, so this might be the last time.

I had the prints done when Alex was born, and Kate was five. Kate seemed so grown up, and Alex was so tiny.

Last week I had lunch with a friend who is pregnant with her second. Her son is two, and her daughter is due on Kate’s birthday in March.

Excuse me, while I have a moment. Eighteen and almost twenty-four. My baby girls, no more. Sigh.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the one where she wonders where the years went

  1. Nicolle says:

    So sweet!

    I agree…sigh.

  2. andrea says:

    Oh my gosh, I love this idea! And here I am, getting weepy about Finn turning 4 on Friday and Lila turning 1 in April! It never gets easier, does it?

Leave a Reply

