the taj mahal | tackett-barbaria style

Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without the arrival of the big man and his bag of magic. I am not talking Santa…I am speaking of Grandpa Bill and his glue gun. This year the graham cracker, royal icing, candy, pretzel and yes, hot glue (everyone, all together…”hot glue is hot”) spectacular was the Taj Mahal. Our neighbors, the Fletchers, joined us to a five-hour fest of wine, food, laughter and a glue-a-palooza. My mom (reluctantly) handed over the royal icing making to me. I still have some learning to do, but it all worked out.

By the way, this “thing” is three feet tall, four feet long and about 2 1/2 feet wide. And it’s in my kitchen. And the Beatles Abbey Road 1000-piece puzzle is in my dining room. And there is a tree growing out of my living room.  Steve has moved the gifted cookies and candy (the fancy stuff, not this stuff) to the garage, so we at least have to exert some energy to access it. Of course, I am still in my pajamas. Welcome home for Christmas.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Making Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the taj mahal | tackett-barbaria style

  1. Nicolle says:

    I want to be adopted into your family. I am in awe of that graham cracker/candy house. WOW! That is amazing.

  2. Pingback: still believe « tour of no regrets

  3. Pingback: christmas 2013 :: what we built | tour of no regrets

Leave a Reply

