candle making, continued

I’ve always made some of my Christmas gifts. In a good year, the entire family is engaged (that would be the birdhouse year, the painted rocks year, the painted flower pots year, the painted ceramic anything year). Some years it’s just the Kate and Kim show. And this year, it was up to me. Kate advised, Alex suggested, and Steve admired (and didn’t tease, which is almost the same in my book).

Square jars from the Dollar Tree, pages from a 1960’s dictionary (from the SPCA Thrift Store, half off, $1.25), Mod Podge and Soy Wax. The coolest part was picking words and pictures in the dictionary for each family…or it might have been melting the wax.  But it it was pretty much all fun.

I made one for myself, and it burns great. I have plenty more pages in the dictionary, so I may have to keep on going.

This entry was posted in Making Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to candle making, continued

  1. Nicole says:

    Kim, I want to make these! Where did you find directions??? I love the salt craft, too, BTW….You’re putting me in the Xmas spirit! falalalalaaaaaaa

  2. LOVE the dictionary idea. And the fact that it’s illustrated and from a thrift shop? Brilliant.

  3. Pingback: bottlecap candles « tour of no regrets

Leave a Reply

