the laundry alcove

In general, I am pretty satisfied with my home. But there are a few things I covet. A master bath (with a tub), a pergola in my patio, and a mud room/laundry room. That last one….oh boy, I really want that. I’ve been pinning ideas onto a board on Pinterest, just biding my time. This weekend, I got a little closer to my faux laundry room in a garage. Presenting the makeover:

Before:

It didn’t always look this bad, but it’s not an unrealistic representation. The crap just piled up as the tweener space between the house and the garbage (or the house to the next resting place, Steve’s workbench). For several years we have had to lean the metal bicycle wind trainer against the washer door to keep it latched. The dryer hasn’t functioned since April. The top shelf has been warped since the second week we put it in…17 years ago. Notice the dog leash, still hanging (we found a new place to hang it).

In my dreams, I was purchasing the Kelly Ripa fancy blue washer and dryer. I eventually came to my senses (after all, I don’t have six kids) and compromised with Glidden Green Apple paint (which isn’t as yellow as it looks in the photo, but it is really, really bright), new shelves, a fancy-enough washer dryer set, an orange spray painted switch plate, and Alex’s old toy bins.

After:

I have a few more pieces to add. Contemplating making a light shade out of a colander (though being stymied by the fact that I can’t find any great colanders). And art, it needs some art. Maybe one of these…

I will kind of miss the clothespins. But I think I can live with this. By the way, did you know that washers and dryers no longer buzz, they chime? I’ll bet Kelly Ripa’s folds fitted sheets (oh yes, no more coveting).

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Making Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the laundry alcove

  1. Kathleen says:

    wow. again I say…wow. I am in awe. looks lovely and like a space that works.

  2. I don’t know which I love more: the room redo or the clothespin photos. Awesomeness all around.

Leave a Reply

