peace, love, coffee and being present

Good morning. So, I did a pretty good job of not fretting over the weekend. I skipped the pedicure and went for a diy special (please don’t look closely, but be forewarned that if one paints one’s toes blue, a little bit o’ blue remains, just as a reminder of those wild days). Alex and I went to a wedding shower and hung out with our two favorite aunties (Hey Pat, Hey Louse!). Evan had a birthday and we had a perfect dinner on the patio, followed by the best chocolate cake and maple ice cream, and of course, a rousing game of Apples to Apples (eventually I will do a blog post on A2A).  Right here, right now, let me say that our teenagers are delightful (Hey Alex, Ian and Leah!).  I finished a pretty good book, Breakfast with Buddha, and pondered one simple question…how do you show your love? There were lots of questions to ponder, but this one seemed to stick with me. It keeps rolling around in my head, bouncing off the other news and stories of the weekend, and doesn’t seem ready to leave.

I keep coming back to a simple thought…that while it includes words and action (we say “I love you” many times a day in this house, and the mister knows that bringing me coffee is always, always appreciated), it’s really more about simply being present for each other. To be able to sit and just be, in a way that is hopeful and helpful, and just is. Without expectations, just with love. We all know, that for me, especially, just being is a challenge. I’m always on to the next thing…we all are. But taking time to sit, and just be present…that’s the gift.

I did spend last night fretting about my blog post for this morning. And then I decided just to let it happen, and spend my time being present for Steve and Alex, rather than spend my time behind the computer monitor.

To my surprise, it kind of worked itself out. Now, if you’ll excuse me, Steve just brought me a cup of coffee, and it’s time to sit and be.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to peace, love, coffee and being present

  1. Lisa says:

    No excuse needed! Sometimes I think we all need to sit and just “be” more often.

  2. pamelagreer says:

    Perfect post! And I love that coffee cup!

Leave a Reply

