map making

My latest Stand Up Crafts Project (a project you can complete quickly, standing up, requiring no patience and very little skill) is a map table. It’s an Ikea Lack table (on sale for $7.99) with decoupaged maps (taking up space in the workroom closet). I used the maps from our European trips with the girls, providing a nostalgia bonus (“Oh, look, that’s were we got lost in Milan, and Alex used her internal GPS to get is back to the hotel…was she really only eight?”) while I was applying the Mod Podge. There are imperfections, but it was fun to do, and I’m enjoying it. The only problem is I didn’t plan where to put it, and it was bigger than I imagined. It will find a home, eventually.

By the way, the Milan incident was the first time we realized that Alex actually did know where she was going, and that her amazingly astute sense of direction, while a little eerie in a child, is actually pretty helpful.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Making Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to map making

  1. Michelle says:

    So cool! I’ve been wanting to decoupage something (I have to figure out what first) like this : http://www.swarmhome.com/pict15.html
    They used old paintings/ watercolors etc, I think. I was just not sure it would be as easy as it sounds with mod podge, but you did it and made it look so good. Nice job! I am inspired.

  2. Nicolle says:

    That is awesome. I am really loving maps lately, and your table really is gorgeous! Plus the good memories make it extra special. 🙂

  3. Pingback: 22 Mod Podge map crafts you'll love. - Mod Podge Rocks

Leave a Reply

