hey y’all, it’s summer

Last weekend home before a small, but perfectly placed, vacation. We’ve been watching baseball every evening. Poor Alex doesn’t know what happened….she’s been Steve’s baseball buddy for years, she left for 5 weeks, and when she returned I was obsessed. It’s like when you were twelve and afraid to go on vacation because your best friend might get another best friend (or am I the only one who had those fears?). She’s ok with it, but I think she’s a little puzzled. Come to think of it, Steve is kind of puzzled, too. We’re eating outside for breakfast and dinner, and planning back-to-school shopping. We’re gardening and finishing projects (more show and tell next week). We’re drinking beer with orange slices.

I’m taking an online course called Emerge, which has given me more to ponder. Because you know, my brain isn’t busy enough. I’ve been attempting to take self-portraits. Most of you know I never, ever (ever) let the camera turn on me. I’m working on taking pictures of myself…not my feet, or my hands, or my coffee….but my face.

It was scary at first, now it’s just kind of weird. I am also trying to get used to this new look for the blog, and trying to fix the fussy type and the 20% too much white space.

The three of us have been going to the gym together. I thought it was really cool that we were all doing the same thing, but then I got on a leg pushing machine after Alex was on it. Oh. We aren’t doing the same thing, and next time I will set the weights before she does.

Kate and Brendan raised met their fund raising goal for Mr. Boat-head and did a press release and cool, wacky press photos. I’m telling you, I don’t know how these two found each other, but they give me hope. For art, and love, and experience, and just plain fun.

Life is swell. See you Monday.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to hey y’all, it’s summer

  1. pam says:

    Those are some nice self portraits. I only do mine in the bathroom, because it has the best flattering light 🙂

  2. Nicolle says:

    I think your self portraits are great. I rarely have the camera on my face too. It’s nice being in more pictures though!

Leave a Reply

