smile at a stranger today (and good things will follow)

I was pondering what project would capture my fancy next (because I am always in search of a new project), and one of  my coffee blog friends, Christy of Urban Muser, showed up with this.  Christy is a street photographer in NYC (and also one of the Mortal Muses, several whom have been coffee blog contributors). She’s been leaving notes around the city, mostly on the subway, encouraging folks to smile at a stranger. And then she invited us to join her. Make a note, take a photo, and post in her flickr group. She also has a Posterous site (ah, a woman with multiple blogs and projects….hiya sister).

Delightfully sneaky.  Exactly perfect.

I started with one on Wednesday, and taped a note to a bench on the sidewalk outside the studio.

It was still there when I left work in the evening.

Today I did three more. I used some paint chip samples I (accidentally) took from Home Depot last week. I was thinking gift tags, but this is so much better.

On my way to a client meeting, I stopped to tape a sign on a bike rack, next to a happy orange cruiser. It seemed like it would be in good company.

On the way back, I found a post with a lonely plant. It was so much happier after I added the note. You can see that, can’t you?

And then something funny happened. If you go to the trouble to make the notes, find homes for them, secure them, take photos of them…well, then you have to smile at a stranger. Actually, all strangers. It’s the payoff.

It was such a nice day that I stopped by a little shop a friend had told me about, Found. It’s this teeny, tiny shop filled with treasures. The owner, Ingrid and I visited for a while…about the typewriter on her desk, the buttons on her shelf, the coffee in her camera (I know, I know, I never stop looking for coffee photos). On my way out I admired a small sign, one of those old vocabulary cards, that said “beautiful’. And she gave it to me. She said it belonged with me.

I smiled my way back to the studio and convinced Steve that we deserved Happy Hour on the patio at Bistro 33 (it didn’t take much, it was a beautiful evening).

On my walk back to the car, I saw a No Trespassing sign that was taking itself much too seriously. Luckily, I had one more note in my bag.

Happy weekend, my friends.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to smile at a stranger today (and good things will follow)

  1. This is very cool. Thank you!

  2. urban muser says:

    kim, this is fantastic!! you are really going for it, and i hope you will continue. there is a button on the sidebar of my blog if you fancy using it. thanks so much for linking to all my stuff. i plan to leave some more notes on the subway today. i may need to branch out, b/c the notes on the subway are not easy to photograph 🙂

  3. urban muser says:

    hey kim, if you have a chance, you can see i posted one of your photos on the posterous site. http://smileatastranger.posterous.com/another-smile-spreader-strikes

    many people have told me they are having trouble commenting over there, if you have trouble could you let me know? much appreciated! thanks again.

  4. Pingback: 545. dino coffee | coffee | served daily

  5. Lisa says:

    It would be so easy to fix the world if we all did stuff like this on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

