a lot can (not) happen over a three-day weekend

This is what did and didn’t happen at our house.

  • I convinced Steve to start a new project. He warned me I would need to be patient, and not expect it to be complete by the end of the weekend. I complied (because I am more compliant than my pleasing personality would lead one to believe), and imagined that by the end of the weekend it would be 75%-80% done. I was compliant, but incorrect. About 20% done. This morning I said, “well, as long as it’s done by the end of the summer.” He said, “oh, that’s great, I think I can have it done by the end of summer.” I didn’t have the nerve to tell him I was joking. Going to have to work on that compliant stuff a bit more.
  • I scrubbed every inch of our teak patio furniture. That part where they tell you that teak is maintenance free? It’s not true. But it looks lovely. Now, if I could only find the cushions.
  • Steve and I saw Midnight in Paris. Loved it. Even forgot that part about Woody Allen marrying his daughter for a few hours. I know it was his ex-wife’s adopted daughter, but still…ick. But the movie…magical, delightful, fun, surprising, inspiring. Am a fan.
  • Alex and I saw Bridesmaids. It was crass and gross and disgusting. Also loved it. We laughed very hard. And yes, I know that empowerment over female fart jokes isn’t what Gloria and Betty had in mind.  But it was pretty darned funny.
  • Our Fourth was quiet. No parades, or bike races, or fireworks. Just the Tour de France in our air conditioned home, some turkey burgers (stuffed with blue cheese….just a little celebratory) and marionberry pie. We listened to Bob Dylan singing “This Land is Your Land” and talked about  loving our country.

I think this is a big vacation week. I think that means I should be on a big vacation this week. Maybe next week, too. Just sayin’…

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

