what’s new at 102?

I am trying a new strategy this year, Fact not Feelings. I will state that it’s hot, but not attach feelings to it. I am hoping this will enable me to graciously glide through the heat of summer.

Yesterday was the first real test.

I ate my breakfast in the patio. I wore a summer dress and flip flops to work.  I went to the studio a little earlier than usual. So far, so good.

I didn’t leave until 5:30. Meanwhile, Steve walked six blocks to get us lunch and went out on a photo shoot scout on a construction site.

I walked maybe 25 feet to my air conditioned car.  I cranked it. I drove the ten minutes home. I entered my air conditioned home and turned it down/up even more.

I opened a beer. I made a quick dinner, minimal cooking.

And then I heard the whining…I’m sweaaaaattttttttyyyyyyyyy...it was fact, but clearly colored by feeling. Alex handed me her water and suggested I drink water rather than beer. May I remind you that she’s 17.

I moved to the couch and turned on the tv. Steve went to the gym. He said he had to get out and do something.

It was summer solstice, and I did nothing summery except eat a lime popsicle.

I watched a show on the National Geographic channel about a group of Amish teenagers who were on a four week trip to meet other teens in England. It went on for hours, and hours and hours. Thank goodness.

This morning it’s cool and the birds, bless ’em, are chirping and singing away.

I’m going to give it another try. Otherwise, everyone would know what I really felt.

P.S. Kate has taken over coffee|served daily for me for the week. We’re headed towards coffee cup number 500 and she’s curated (that’s fancy college talk for organized, y’ know) 50 iPhone photos, ten a day. She calls it Chroma Cafe and organized curated them by rainbow colors. It’s pretty fun…go pay her a visit (and while you’re at it, she would appreciate any tips on eliminating the rats who have invaded their sweet apartment).

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to what’s new at 102?

  1. Kathleen says:

    Wow, Davis is a huge, free Bikram Yoga studio. Just don’t do his official set of postures or he will sue you. Here is what you do. Sit in your most excellent Flamenco clapping posture on the edge of a chair in the shade. Reach slowly with one arm somewhere. Reach slowly with the other arm in a similar or different way. Lift chin a hint. Drop shoulders. Breathe. Shift weight slightly. Shift it the other way. Let arms relax. OK, done!!!!

Leave a Reply

