getting ready

We took Toby back to UC Davis last night. It had only been 2 1/2 weeks. He had fluid in his lungs, chest cavity and heart.

Alex was at the Farmers Market with her friends. I knew it was time….not the time, but another time. I brought out the leash. No response. A plastic bag (surely we’re going on a walk if she is getting a plastic bag). No response. Cheese. Real cheese, not the soy cheese. No response. Steve finally carried him to the car.

Steve was able to bring him home last night, our groggy drunk boy (the dog, not the dad). Toby left a mess in the car (yes, that kind of mess).  Alex laid down with him.

The vet told me we’d probably never feel ready. She’s right. I know we aren’t the only people to ever go through this, but we really aren’t ready.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to getting ready

  1. pam says:

    I am so sorry for what you are going through. I just went through this two weeks ago with Scrappycat. I knew it was time for both of us. I had to accept that her quality of life did not match my need to have her around. After agonizing about it, one day I woke up, and I just knew. You’ll know.

  2. Happy says:

    Thoughts are with you all. Friends use to ask what got me through the divorce and it was a thousand miles of walks with Jet. saying goodbye was hard.

  3. Kareen says:

    My heart goes out to you and your family. Your experience reminds me of my own… I said goodbye to my dear sweet angel, a 14.5-year-old golden retriever, less than 2 weeks ago. I agree, you’ll never be ready… and only time will heal your heart. My thoughts are with you.

  4. Nicole says:

    Thinking of you with a heavy heart. We are right behind you with our golden retriever, I’m afraid. 😦

  5. Kathleen says:

    Sit on the floor. Pet the dog.

  6. Michelle says:

    I’m really sorry. I think about Toby alot when I look at our old man, Mo. You’ll know when you have to do it and, you won’t have any regrets because he’s so very loved.

  7. Nicolle says:

    No, you’re never ready. As many hard decisions as I’ve had in my life, a few weeks ago making THIS hard decision was heartbreaking. Like our vet reassured us though, it was finally her time and we did the right thing. I’m in tears right now for you!

Leave a Reply

