my vegan(ish) adventure | tale of the regretful cupcake

I would never have believed this. I am certain it was the cupcake’s fault, but I never thought such a small treat could wreak havoc like this.

I have been doing the vegan(ish) thing since February 22. Almost a month. It’s been great. I feel great.

We have had some disgusting meals, but generally, it’s working. And I do admit that with almost every meal, I think (with my inside voice, usually), “hmmm, this would be really, really good with a small piece of grilled salmon, or a skewer of grilled shrimp, or a small piece of grilled chicken…or a little goat cheese.” But other than the moments of meat and cheese lust, it’s worth it.

I have more energy, my joints don’t ache, my skin is great, and Steve (and others) say I look healthier. I started sleeping through the night right away, which is something I haven’t done in years.

Until last night.

Yesterday I visited a new bakery in town, thinking they were a vegan bakery. I wanted to taste test a cupcake before I bought a whole chai cake for a dinner party on Saturday night. Turns out they only make vegan cupcakes on Mondays and Fridays, and a small cake would cost $30+. But the woman was so nice to me that I felt compelled to buy three cupcakes. Guinness Chocolate for Steve, Irish Creme for Alex, and Red Velvet for me.

They were delicious. We savored them. They were light, sweet, flavorful. One of the best cupcakes I have ever had.

And last night I tossed and turned. I snored. I snorted. I sweated. I was awake. I was up. The covers were on the floor. My feet were cold, and so were Steve’s. It was like a replay of the past five years of sleepless in Davis.

It could have been the three episodes of Dog the Bounty Hunter I watched. It could have been the cupcake. It could be just a coincidence.

But on Saturday night, I am bringing a giant bowl of fresh strawberries from the market. I loved the cupcake, but I love my sleep even more.

And the vegan(ish) adventure continues.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to my vegan(ish) adventure | tale of the regretful cupcake

  1. Happy says:

    Do you have Gluten allergies?

  2. LisaF says:

    damn TV shows.

  3. Michelle says:

    I’m interested in this diet- that you’ve slept better since on it. I go through phases of sleep disturbance and never really get the right amount, I might check into this. But, Dog? I don’t know, I think he might put me to sleep 🙂

Leave a Reply

