March 7, 1988

Happy Birthday, my Kate. You swept into our lives, defined our family and helped us create a life of adventure.

I was pretty sure you were the most beautiful baby on the planet (until your sister came along, and then I was amazed that my two daughters, coincidentally, just happened to be the two most beautiful babies on the planet). People used to stop us in the street to ask about your hair, and how we got it to stand up that way.

The truth is, you’ve never had a problem standing up for what’s good and right. You’ve always been clear and clever and kind.

You didn’t even laugh at Dad and his turquoise glasses (unlike your sister, who is currently appalled at what appears to be a Steven combover).

Your adventure is just beginning. You have everything you need for a spectacular life, and I know it will be so.

I love you, with all my heart, a few gray hairs, and a bottle of wine. A toast to you Katy Faye, on your 23rd birthday.

And just because I can….here’s a special treat….Kate and her love, Brendan. You have met your match, my dear.

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March 7, 1988

  1. pam says:

    Happy Birthday to Kate!

  2. Aunt Baaa says:

    Such a gorgeous little girl! Wonderful post. Hammy’s hair stood up like that too! I wonder if it is the birthday thing!?!? Funny!

  3. LisaF says:

    Sorry, I missed this post. What a beautiful tribute to your daughter. The last pic simply says it all! šŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: twenty six | tour of no regrets

Leave a Reply

