can’t look, can’t look away

What is it with Charlie Sheen? I don’t get it.

I’ve never watched an entire episode of his TV show, or one of his movies, and yesterday I had to ask if he was Emilio, or if Emilio was his brother. But I will not admit to you how many hours I have logged watching his meltdown on TV and online.

I get that he’s either crazy delusional, or strung out, or self-destructive (or all three) and that the media is being an enabler (though I have to say, they are being restrained). But I don’t get why I am watching.

I read a blog post about what his parents must be going through (here), and I think about them. I read another from a former meth addict, who described what he went through (it was on Huff Post).

This morning Steve asked me what I got from all the time I have spent watching. He didn’t know that before I got up I vowed not to press one button that would link to anything about Charlie Sheen today. And I wouldn’t replace that with any buttons about Sarah or Bristol or Kim or Christina.

I get that he could just be full of himself and therefore deserves his destiny as a cosmic joke. Or that if he is sick, and addicted, and still using, he will  make his way out of it, and show others that it’s possible to hit bottom and make it to the other side. Or that families can recognize this in their loved ones and stage an intervention.

And I get that addiction, even teensy tiny, seemingly benign addiction is not the same as real life. So I get that it’s time to turn off the TV, step away from the computer and go kiss my daughter, hug my husband and feed my dog.

Ah, do we all feel better, now?

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to can’t look, can’t look away

  1. pam says:

    It’s horrible watching someone self destruct.

  2. LisaF says:

    I’ve been toying with some thoughts on Charlie but can’t seem to find the words to convey my total disgust. I’ll keep working. I’m sure he’ll give me more fodder to work with soon.

Leave a Reply

