it’s thursday, love

Last night I went to Target to buy more expensive dog food for Toby, and to see if I could get a better deal on the organic sliced turkey (yes, for the dog), and I found myself wandering down the kids’ Valentine’s Day aisle. We were mostly a magazine, glue stick, construction paper, glitter kind of family, back in the day…but still, we’ve had a few boxes.

I was kind of wistful, and a little relieved to be done with that aisle. But I bought two bags of the candy hearts (big and small) and will attempt to do something creative with them. This isn’t it…but I will think of something.

Still on Toby watch…my secret signal that he was feeling better would be when I saw him perched on the picnic table, ears perked for any who dare pass by our yard. This morning he was there for a few moments….he moved as soon as I brought out my camera. I don’t think he much cared who used the bike trail today. Steve suggested that perhaps Toby didn’t wait for the photo because of the dopey pink and red hearts collar I am making him wear this month. I will stand by my claim that Toby is a man-dog enough to wear the color and it is festive, not fussy.

Steve can’t possibly be right. Perhaps if I bring out the glue sticks and the candy hearts and make it three dimensional, he will reconsider.

Hmmmmmm.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to it’s thursday, love

  1. pam says:

    No, he can’t be right. Doggies love Valentines collars.

  2. Vertigo B says:

    I am glad that he seems to be doing a little better. I think it is the promise of a Valentine collar!

Leave a Reply

