lust for rust

I am a longtime fan of rust. I collect rust, and I lust for rust. I always thought my rust had to be acquired. Then last October we were invited to a home of someone who made rust. I wrote about it here. I also wrote about rust here.ย  And here. I just want to prove that I am not a rusty-come- lately.

Sooooo, on Saturday when I was thrifting with the crafty sisterhood (see yesterday’s post), I found a disk brake that I thought would have a lovely place in my home. It was big and heavy and $ .75. When I came home the place in my home wasn’t so obvious, so I put it outside in the patio.

This morning I went out to take photos of the gray fog, and I found….RUST. I am making rust!!!!!!!!

My disky brakey thingy was dripping rust. I am inappropriately excited about this.

And yes, I know it’s a little pathetic to admit that this may have been the highlight of my day.

But rust, you guys! I am making rust…my very own rust. But you can come over and look at it anytime you like. It will be on the center of the dining room table, in the place of honor.

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to lust for rust

  1. brookeappler says:

    o i heart this post! my roommate michael just bought a new knife that he wears proudly at his hip at all times. i went up to the kitchen the other week and saw that thing slathered with mustard on our windowsill! i had no idea what he was doing. the next day it was stuck in a pumpkin ๐Ÿ™‚ turns out he’s trying to grow rust (he has a name for the type,, maybe “blue rust”?) on it in cool manly patterns. he showed me the rust he’d ‘made’ and was very proud. i told him it was manly … but really seeing it on my windowsill kind of freaks me out ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

