plate tetonics

On Christmas morning I was up before the others (earlier as always, but later than before). I poured some Kahlua in my coffee, added a candy cane and because no one was looking, a healthy heap of whipped cream.

I lit the tree and the fire, and then I sat.

And felt it. A slight rumble….a little shake….almost too subtle to notice.

Except I am a mom, and moms notice everything.

I knew, then and there, this was the beginning of a tetonic shift in my life.

And don’t you go saying I am being over-dramatic. This is serious stuff, the plate tetonics of parenthood.

Small changes this year. Bigger ones next year.

The changes are good and happy, expected and welcome. I love change, really I do.

But darn it, at that moment, I only felt the unsettling shift.

I don’t know what any of  this means, but writing it makes it a little more familiar, and not so scary. In the meantime, I am going to study plate tetonics for clues.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to plate tetonics

  1. Nicole Isaacson says:

    Kim, just wanted to stop in and thank you for another year of interesting, usually funny (I’m always nodding my head in agreement), and often thought provoking posts. I always feel like I’m peeking in your kitchen window (but not in a creepy illegal kinda way) and visiting with you. Happy New Year to you and yours. *<l:)

  2. LisaF says:

    I, too, felt a tectonic shift in my life. Now that Peanut and her parents are gone, life has been turned upside-down…or as Entrepreneur thinks…right side up. I find myself very unsettled. Facing a new year with a new definition of parenthood with all the kids out on their own is both exciting and yet something is missing………but I still have the dog!

Leave a Reply

