light

A few weeks ago, I found a post on another blog (someone I follow, but don’t know) that quoted a song by Leonard Cohen, Anthem.

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack, a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in.

I have been thinking of this ever since. There is a crack in everything….that’s how the light gets in.

It seems like the perfect message, at least for me, for this time of year.

I always have the holiday orchestrated in my imagination and in my notebooks. I forget to add the part where someone gets sick, someone is uptight and someone is let down. Someone perhaps spent a little more money that she should have. Someone gets cranky. Sometimes all of those someones are me. Who am I kidding? That is exactly my pattern.  I love the holidays until I don’t, and sometimes that’s as early as 2:00 on Christmas afternoon.

I view the holidays as a time to show my love to my family and friends, to celebrate them, to do something goofy like stick a tree up in the middle of the living room (with a sprinkling of Toby pee, just to make it interesting), to create some memories and some magic. Oh, and to ponder my conflicted relationship with Christianity…that happens too.  We always have pretty good Christmases, and we don’t have any huge drama. But there is always something that wears me out.

I am handling the holidays much better this year. Perhaps it’s because I haven’t started them yet. Kate and Brendan will be here Friday, and then the festivities will begin.

And this time I will be patient with myself and with others. I hope I might appreciate the cracks. Because that’s where the light comes in.

I’ll let you know how it all works out.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to light

  1. elle says:

    Kim,

    I so get this! You and I are identical in how we deal with Christmas. I almost always get sick around my birthday, and this year I managed to get an early start by contracting whooping cough on Halloween. I’m just now getting over it.

    I also get the overspending, the disappointments, and the crankiness. And every year I say, “Next year I’ll get it right!”

    This year, I’m gonna look for the cracks.

    love,
    elle

Leave a Reply

