thankful for pajamas and pie

I am trying to remember how I spent the last four days, and darned if I can’t recall a thing.

I know we spent Thanksgiving Day in Squaw Valley at Steve’s Aunt Pat’s cabin. Snow and sun and conversation and plenty of food. There were only seven of us, compared to last year’s 29….and it was really, really lovely. Plus the dishes were much more manageable. And there was leftover pie.

I can’t remember the rest of the weekend. I know I was in my pajamas for an inappropriate amount of each day. And then, just when it would really be embarrassing, I changed to sweats. We were productive and brought the last of the remaining kitchen items in from the garage. Did some shopping (but not on Friday), plowed my way through Freedom by Jonathan Franzen…taking a break to breathe after every chapter (that’s some dense storytelling). I made turkey soup. We went to the gym, I cleaned out the hall closet, and Steve shampooed the rugs. And there was still pie.

Tomorrow, there will be real clothes. While I am really thankful for the pajamas and the pie, when it’s time to zip up the big girl clothes, I suspect I will be thankful for the gym as well.

Happy Monday everyone. Let the holidays begin!

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

