who needs a list?

So we all know that there isn’t much that gives me more of a thrill than to begin the weekend with a lovely list (in columns! in my best handwriting!) and to end it with checks and crossed off tasks (with a few empty boxes next to one or two items that didn’t make it, because after all, I am realistic).

Except for going rogue and using no list. Which is pretty much how I spent my weekend alone.

I didn’t clean one closet, or scrub one floor tile. The baseboards in our bathrooms still have their dust veneer. The Christmas cards aren’t done (but I did buy an Annie Lennox Christmas CD), and I didn’t write letters (real letters with real paper!).

I did buy two new pajamas and slippers. And firewood (well, Crackletime logs if you must know the truth). I read a book in one sitting. I began knitting a scarf.  I planted bulbs. I went to Berkeley and wandered around Fourth Street.  I drank tea and lit candles and incense and never turned on the TV. I went to the gym (twice) and took Toby for walks and collected leaves. I painted my toes (plum!) and met Tim from Top Chef Just Desserts (in the Crate and Barrel outlet, and I even spoke to him and told him I enjoyed him on the show and was sorry he left early, but delighted he came back to help Yigit win…he was funny and nice and I don’t think I embarrassed myself).

I figure I have 2 hours this morning to tackle the list. Or maybe I will tear it out and start all over again.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to who needs a list?

  1. LisaF says:

    sounds like a yummy weekend. I love paperwhites but haven’t planted them for years. Congrats on successfully going rouge.

Leave a Reply

