cheating, compromising and finishing

Yesterday a friend commented on the blog about my Project 365 progress that she guessed I wouldn’t be doing it again next year, eh?

Well, probably not exactly this thing. But I think I may still do something that requires stamina. And creativity. And attention to the small moments in my life. In general, I am a really good starter and a kind of lousy finisher. I make the salads, never the desserts…I kick off the projects, never deliver the final files…I prefer short walks over long treks. I always fall asleep before I finish the book, tv show, movie….you pick it, I’ve slept through it.

I know I have been complaining about Project 365 since the beginning. It’s the project I love to hate. I mean, really, who would take a photo every. single. day?

I am always confused between creating a good photo and one that represents my day. They aren’t the same thing, you know. And I have sworn I wouldn’t do it again. But the project helped  me seek out the light, and the moments and the color that surrounds me, even if it’s hiding. I have made new online friends, and have become a better photographer. And it creates new conversations.

Like yesterday when I was shooting the dead pumpkins a few streets over, I ran into one of Alex’s most interesting friends. I have caught glimpses of her lately, but haven’t had a conversation with her in a few years. And there we were, in the middle of the street, discussing the concept of dead pumpkins and tossed Christmas trees and the stress of junior year in high school.

It’s also been an opportunity to recognize that I don’t always have it. In October I really didn’t have it. Anything I had went to the kitchen remodel. So I gave myself permission to cheat…to skip a few days, and then play catch up at the Home Depot paint counter. Rat traps in my cart, yeah, that was an artistic moment.

But you know, it was ok….I just plodded along and shot what I could, when I could, and believed that I would be inspired again.  Just like life and diets and relationships and books and work and religion and diets (I already mentioned diets, didn’t I)? My final cheat was taking photos of my morning coffee with my iPhone. There was something challenging about finding something creative in something so ordinary with a not very good camera, before my third cup of coffee. I did it for a week straight.

And next year, I may do it for 365 days straight. I am imagining a new blog with 1000 cups of coffee. Some with a story, some just straight up caffeine.  And I am hoping if I need to cheat, my wine glass will be handy.

Cheating and compromising are ok. Finishing what you started is even better.

I think.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to cheating, compromising and finishing

  1. LisaF says:

    Touché! Whatever you decide to do, I’ll be there waiting to see what it is. 🙂

  2. pam says:

    Totally sums up everything perfectly. (That sentence sounded way more intelligent in my head).

Leave a Reply

