it’s a sign, just a sign

I remember sitting in front of my computer, nine years ago, and being afraid. Not of other religions, or cultures, or even of terrorists. But wondering if on this day, things would change, and our country would be driven by fear. I remember thinking, “I don’t want my children to grow up in a world of fear, please don’t let that be.”

Of course, that’s what we have. Fear, hatred, hysteria, bigotry. And as the smart man sitting across from me just said, “and a bunch of people with their head up their asses.”

There’s also plenty of love, generosity, kindness, courage and peace to go around. So that’s what my sign is about. My recycled Obama campaign sign, some studio paper  and Barney purple paint. In my front yard today, for all to see. And hopefully, they’ll smile and understand.

Peace everyone. Everywhere. Today especially.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to it’s a sign, just a sign

  1. Pingback: life stuff, work stuff, kitchen stuff…it’s all stuff « Kim's Tour of No Regrets

Leave a Reply

